The island

      Gran Canaria forms part of the Canary Islands in the Atlantic Ocean, 210 km from the coast of Africa. Its capital is Las Palmas de Gran Canaria and the island gives name to the province which also includes the islands of Lanzarote and Fuerteventura.

      The Canary Islands have an interesting history, stretching to the present day from the arrival of the first inhabitants, generally known as 'Guanches', and its later settlement by the Castilians.